Lulu Reviews: The Weird Girls by Cecy Robson

Weird Girls NovellaCelia Wird and her three sisters are just like other 20-something girls—with one tiny exception: they’re products of a backfired curse that has given each of them unique powers that make them, well, a little weird…
The Wird sisters are different from every race on earth—human and supernatural. When human society is no longer an option for them, they move in among the resident vampires, werebeasts, and witches of the Lake Tahoe region. Could this be the true home they’ve longed for? Um, not quite. After the sisters accidentally strip a witch of her powers in a bar brawl, they soon realize the mistake will cost them. Because to take on a witch means to take on her coven. And losing the battle isn’t an option.

  • File Size: 454 KB
  • List Price: $3.53
  • Publisher: Signet (December 4, 2012)
  • Sold by: Penguin Publishing
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008EXNZZM
  • Buy at Amazon

THE WEIRD GIRLS is a novella, and from what I can tell, the first. So, ya know, not like an author cashing in on a series selling well already with the $.99 to $2.99 going rate.

This is more like a forward to a book except it is a whole story. If I am right and that is what it is, I think it is a genius idea. GENIUS. We get introduced to four characters, sisters (Celia, Taran, Shayna, and Emme),  and their backstory, through a story. Mostly showing, not telling. There is no way the author could have done this in a three page prologue.

So. The Weird Girls, surname “Wird,”  were cursed before their birth by a wicked aunt. She apparently disapproved of their mother’s marriage and her curse intended an early death for their parents (that part happened) and for any and every child born of their union to be weak and fragile (that part backfired for reasons unknown or as yet undisclosed). So each of the four sisters has a superpower of some sort. They are also notably different on the subconscious level, which makes normal humans shun them as different. Apparently, high school was brutal for the Weird Girls. And a little chip on their shoulders remains, leading to…an accidental fight with a coven of witches.

The novel opens with a celebration of their first home purchase. But Taran gets pissy when some random chick in the girl’s room who turns out to be a witch starts picking on Emme, the sweetest of the sisters. Taran unloads lightening on the bitch, frying her hair and making her pretty hostile, and the fried hair girl’s partner-in-girl’s-trip-to-the-bathroom escalates things to Defcon 5. From there the situation goes to Godfather level (if the Godfather was a supernatural movie instead of a mob one) and Celia must challenge the coven leader to a duel of sorts.

Through the tasks of the duel, we learn what powers the Weird girls possess along with how they relate to each other.

Oh, also, we learn that it is not smart to eff with someone’s sister. If you are me, or anyone who ever effed with my sister, you already know that, but for the uninitiated, it’s a good life-skills lesson.

There is quick and thick action, strong writing, and I had no trouble reading straight through. The writing is snarky in a good way and doesn’t take itself too seriously…no excessive angst although there is a tragic backstory. No romance thread (yet), but this really felt more like an introduction to the Wird sisters and why they are so clannish and still single. Huge potential in that department. I would recommend this novella for the following people:

  • Fans of strong female leads
  • Fans of Jane Yellowrock or Gin Blanco (please see previous)
  • Anybody with a sister. Because you feel it, yo!

3.25 stars. Is that such a thing? Meh…I think you’ll like it. I think I will like the next one better. There’s a lot to be said for that!

Comments
  • Wicked Lil Pixie January 2, 2013 at 10:57 am

    You will like the full length, I had no idea there was a novella before I read it!

  • Lee January 2, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    I enjoyed the novella and loved the full length. I think this series is going to be a lot of fun and there is so much new story potential with all the sisters.

%d bloggers like this: