Release Me Blog Tour With Julie Kenner

Exponents, Shampoo, and a thank you to readers!

 

I’m thrilled to be here today at Wicked L’il Pixie for today’s stop on the Release Me blog tour.

I’ve been thanking readers of Release Me like crazy on my website, facebook pages (especially the J. Kenner and Julie Kenner pages), Twitter, and anywhere else I can think of.  And that thank you to readers is for more than just grabbing a copy of the book, it’s also for coming by Facebook or Twitter or my webpage to tell me—and others!–that they loved the book.

As I’ve mentioned before, there’s nothing more powerful than word of mouth, and that’s no better way to support an author or a book that you love than by spreading the word; and I know that has been a big part of the reason that Release Me has stayed in the top ten Barnes and Noble ebooks since its release a week ago (and done fabulously elsewhere, too)!  Again, thank you!

I was thinking about that the other, and what occurred to me is that “word of mouth” is evolving in a big way, and social media is a huge part of that.

When I was young, there was a shampoo commercial for Faberge that went as viral as things went back in the 80s.  The gimmick?  The shampoo was so great that you’d tell two friends and they’d tell two friends and so on and so on and so on.

And you know what? I actually had friends who told me they used the shampoo.

Today, though…  Well, “friends” has a whole new meaning.  If I tell my Twitter friends, it’s not just being seen by two, it’s potentially seen by thousands.  If I tell a thousand friends, and they tell a thousand, and so on and so on and so on …

Same with Facebook.  And the same with readers who are on social media and share with their Facebook friends and Twitter followers.  That girl with the shampoo had exponential growth … but nowadays, the potential growth is, well, exponentially viral!

Is it any wonder that authors, movie companies, and retail businesses are all over social media?  There can be a lot of noise out there, but if you can wade through all the conversation, there are also great opportunities to not only spread the word about things you love, but also to learn about something you might have missed.  I’ve discovered books, indie movies, websites, and all sorts of fun things from Twitter and Facebook.

Not only that, but social media is fun! Working at home as I do, it’s nice to be able to pop over to the “break room” and chat with friends.

So spread the word about the books and movies and things you love, and enjoy seeing what comes across your stream.

It really is a brave new world!

What kind of social media do you participate in?  Are you a fan of social media, or a reluctant participant?  Do you remember that commercial?

J. Kenner is the pen name of USA Today bestselling author Julie Kenner (who also writes as J.K. Beck).  Release Me, an erotic romance, went on sale January 1 in the U.S. and the U.K., and in over a dozen other countries later in 2013.

You can hang out with J.K., learn more about Release Me and her other novels, or just poke around and see what catches your eye at her website, www.jkenner.com, and also at her J. Kenner Facebook page, www.facebook.com/jkennerbooks and on Twitter at www.twitter.com/juliekenner

 GIVEAWAY DETAILS: One US Commentor will win a copy of Release Me, just answer Julie’s question.

Or Buy Release Me here

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms. 
 
He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist. 
 
Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me. Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.
 
But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

Excerpt

Comments
  • Kwana January 8, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    I do remember that commercial and for my own release date I asked my friends to please tell 2 friends. What a great commercial and shampoo! Congrats!

  • Pam R January 8, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    I remember that ad. So, I posted and pinned. Now if others do the same. It would be awesome.

  • Ti Colluney January 8, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    I live in the UK so I cannot enter but I just wanted to say hi to my fellow Whine Sister Julie! I remember that commercial and it was one that you teased other people about. “Like ohmygawd!! Her hair is like so awesome!” “Like totally” “I bet she uses Faberge” “And she told two friends and those friends told two friends and so on and so on….HAHAHA” Yes I do remember that commercial.
    I use Facebook mostly but I have on occasion used Twitter (@eternaisblissy) to whine at Krispy Kreme. See they won’t build one near me, and since I do not drive here in the UK with my US license, I am poo out of luck. The closest is over an hours drive. No local bus ride!!!! SO I have to shout at them to remember to build one closer!!! Plus its great for entering contests. Nice to see ya here Julie. I hope I run across your book soon. I would love to read it! XXX

    • kathy gee January 8, 2013 at 9:34 pm

      you’ll really enjoy the book when you find it i ordered it for my kindle,my daughter got me for christmas in hopes that i would buy less hard copies of books .not really working though

  • Susan Ann Wall January 8, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    I remember that commercial and I used the shampoo! My hair never looked that good though! I try to share the books I enjoy on social media as much as I can. As an author, I know how important word of mouth is! I mostly use Facebook, but it is connected to Twitter and I also Blog and Pin. Having a plan and a schedule is smart, but if you’re just sharing something you love rather than promoting your own stuff, social media makes it quick and easy!

  • J. Kenner January 8, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    Hi Ti!!!! and hi everyone! Wow, I didn’t realize so many folks would remember it. But there you go…some commercials stick with you! Actually, a lot do. Anyone else remember the he’s an Aqua Velva man song???? (Sorry for any earworms!)

  • erinf1 January 8, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    Thanks for the fun post and congrats to Julie on the new release! Ummm… I’m kind of a reluctant social media participant. I don’t have facebook, twitter, or pinterest and really don’t plan to. I’m too private to really enjoy these things and I don’t really need it… everyone I want to see, I still do in person! But I do enjoy reading book blogs and I will comment but that’s about it!

  • Elizabeth H. January 8, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    Talk about a blast from the past!! I remember the commercial…but I don’t think I ever used the product!

  • donnas January 8, 2013 at 8:50 pm

    I do not remember that commercial. I use social media but Im not on it all the time.

  • bn100 January 8, 2013 at 10:34 pm

    Don’t know that commercial. Only visit blogs.

  • Patricia Eimer January 9, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    I don’t remember the shampoo commercial but I think it was before my time. Meanwhile I’m on facebook and twitter and both are starting to grow on me. I’m not a fan yet but I feel the dark side coming on.

  • celina k January 10, 2013 at 12:24 am

    I don’t remember that commercial, actually! I was probably pretty young. I use most social networking, although not for discussing my personal life. I think it is a great tool for networking and marketing.

Trackbacks
%d bloggers like this: